Thread: University of Phoenix Online?????

Post University of Phoenix Online?????

Just a quick question for everyone to get your opinion on something.

I graduated with my ADN just over two years ago and have been practicing as a RN since then in various areas such as Med Surg, Mental Health, ICU and currently ED. I have been debating recently on whether or not I want to go back and get my BSN. I made the decision that I do and started researching RN to BSN programs (mostly here within my home state of Kansas). My biggest complaint was all of these unnecessary classes that they required. So I continued my search and came across the University of Phoenix. Much to my delite they didn't require these classes, but now I have another concern.

What is everyone's thoughts on the UOP Online? It is worth my time? I plan on moving out of state eventually (not for sure where though) and the last thing I want is a prospective employer saying "Oh! Ewwwww! You received your BSN from the UOP online!", and wind up not getting the job.

Stephen, RN

Re: University of Phoenix Online?????

In most cases, a potential employer won't care where you got your BSN from, as long as you have it.

For an MSN in Nursing, specially for teaching purposes, it may very well make a difference what school you get it from.

University of Phoenix has to satisfy the same state requirements as a traditional college. They will get the credits in somewhere.

I'd always recommend the traditional classroom over a online course. If it is more convenient for you to do it online, do look into it.

Andrew Lopez, RN
    Nursing Associations, Degree Programs Online, Jokes, Schools, Scrubs & More
    http://www.4nursing.com

Actually Stephen the University of Phoenix Online is so well respected that a lot of hospitals nursing departments hold group study sessions, and one I worked at had class webcasts in the nursing lounge for those working on their Masters from UoP. It's that well respected.