Thread: Want to become a Traveler

Want to become a Traveler

Hello everyone. This is a great site! and I've been reading the posts whenever I get the chance (too much overtime). I've got a few questions if someone has time to help....

My wife and I want to become Nurse Travelers. (Children have all left the nest.) She is currently in LPN school (one semester to go!) and plans to work part-time after bridging into a RN program. When she becomes a RN I plan to quit work and go back to school myself.

Right now I am undecided - nursing or radiography? I am leaning towards radiography (MRI & CT) because of the technical aspects but am unsure if there is a need for traveling radiographers? The company that I presently work for has sent me to EMT-Basic and I am a newly state certified EMT-B. (Unfortunately, with all the overtime I'm having to pull at work I don't get very many opportunities to volunteer with the rescue unit in town.) When I do get to function as an EMT I really enjoy it - so maybe I'd like nursing in the ER?

Any replys and comments would be greatly appreciated.

PS - I'm also a former Marine. 13 years OOHRAH!

Re: Want to become a Traveler

OOHRAH Marine, Yes there are traveling radiography techs. In many different fields. Radiology does pay quite well. you may also consider in radiology Special procedure labs and cardiac cath labs. Both travel and pay well. It is all what you want. If you like combat, ER is a great place to work. If you want to travel in Nursing you should work some critical care so you can have a better selection of assignments. When you start RN school work in a hospital as an aid in er or critical care so you can see what different allied areas of the hospital do. Talk to nurses and x-ray techs to get an idea before you spend all the time and hard work becoming a nurse. any ways you will always have a job that pays well.

Do or die Marine

Anonymous