Thread: Choosing the Nursing Career!

Choosing the Nursing Career!

Hi Everyone!

I am a computer science programmer and I have decided to change my career to nursing. Reasons I felt was mainly job satisfaction.. as I feel I love to help people, have a meaning in my job and one that uplifts me morally.

But, I am in a dilema as how to start. I checked with my community college and I require a pre-requisite. I am in Kansas by the way. I would like to do my registered nursing (RN) eventually. Which way is better? Doing a Certified Nurse Aid Certification or Licensed Practical Nurse Certification and then do my Registered Nursing Program. How long would it take if I do my CNA to RN and LPN to RN?

My CNA starts this fall. I should check abt LPN too. But, if I complete my prerequisites by this year.. my RN classes start next Fall and it would take me 3 and a half years in total (considering my prerequisites time too). If everything works well, I would finish my prerequisites by next Jan.

One more Question? I was thinking to get into a Nurse Aid job and gain some experience before I start my RN course. However, is it easy to do so? I mean.. can I easily find a job? What would be the starting pay for CNA and RN? Is it easy to find job as a RN?

We are planning for a kid now too. Hope everything works well. Could you please answer my doubts and also explain the daily life of a nurse and in the career growth aspect too.

I am sorry.. my mail is very long. Eagerly expecting your opinions. Have a nice day! Thanks you all.
    Amy.

Re: Choosing the Nursing Career!

Dear Amy,
    I started out as a nursing assistant at age 18. I found out whether or not I was "cut out" for nursing as a career. I believe that starting from there makes a person appreciate what they achieve later on.

I am speaking from my own experience. If I had to do it all over again, I would bypass my LPN training and go for my RN.