Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Advice please on strike assignments

Advice please on strike assignments

Has anyone been to a NJ strike assignment? I think it would be cool to step in and take care of patients when they need it most, not to mention the pay. Regardless of strike or not, there are still patients in need. I was wondering about the housing, hospital, other experiences. You gotta check it out for $60/hr. I have 15 yrs ER experience and 6 yrs L&D. I am not afraid to step in. Am I missing something? The company is US Nursing.

Smile Re: Advice please on strike assignments

Be prepared for a secluded life..You will be "bussed" to the facility in an unmarked van, stay in a hotel/motel not too near the facility for your protection..You should not bring a family with you..be prepared for possible emotional abuse and physical abuse by others who work at the facility and by the strikers..good thing is the money though!

Re: Advice please on strike assignments

you are stabbing other nurses in the back by being a strike breaker. the problem in NJ is that the hospital system there wants all its nurses to seek health care at their facilities so the hosp doesnt have to pay an insurance company premiums for its nurses. so, if you go on vacation, or have an embarassing problem, then you have to seek healthcare with all your co-workers knowing you had that problem, in NJ at the hospital or you arent covered.

nurses are caring individuals and want to take care of the patients. being from this area, the patients are the only rewarding thing about working in the tri state area. it has to be something really messed up for a group of nurses to gather together and strike. this is more than just a few dollars more an hour.

you will not necessarily get assaulted but they will make your life miserable. trust me.

Member Extraordinaire