Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Being a Male Nurse

Being a Male Nurse

Is anyone on-line a Male Nurse, or know someone who is?
    I am a 35-year old male starting school in September working towards being an RN.
    I was wondering if anyone has had any problems/issues working in a predominately female profession.
    Any help would be great?

Re: Being a Male Nurse

No problems. There are quite a few male nurses working now.

hi, I am a male nurse obviously from my name. I enjoy being a nurse and for the most part have been well accepted even in my area of interest. i think you will like it if you do it for the right reasons. don't do it for the money do it because you want to and enjoy working with and helping people.good luck.Mark

I see alot of men in the hospital. For some reason, "male nurse" just rubs me raw, though. I took the same boards as females and prefer just plain old "nurse, RN or hay-you". Do your absolute best in school because the nursing community and especially the docs are going to expect you to know everything.
    The floors don't have as many men as they should (except the PCU usually has a few guys there), but critical care, cath lab, OR, and ER seem to have alot of guys working in them.

Best of luck no matter what you decide to do.

I wholeheartedly agree. Whether a person is a male or female, a nurse is a nurse. I have been a nurse for 25 years and still love what I do. There is nothing like helping someone deal with their illness. And we actually get paid to do it. What a deal!!!!!!!!!
    Gary

Male nurses make up bout 3-7% of the nursing population depending on where you go. I've been in practice since 1997 and don't have any regrets.