Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: LPN or RN?

LPN or RN?

Is there any advantage to geeting your lpn cert prior to an RN? I'm here in colorado and the wait line seems incredibly long..is lpn any shorter? Also, I can't seem to find any info on the scope of practice..what can they DO? Thirdly, I'm currently an EMT, so where does the Lpn fall into the EMS system? ALS? BLS?
    THX!

Re: LPN or RN?

i went to lpn because i couldn't afford to work part time more than a year. i then went distance education to get my rn - so i worked full time while i got my rn at my own pace. i would go rn because of the more opportunity and rn has. the difference between rn and lpn is rn has a seamester of management courses. i would go to a private school to get your rn - it may cost more but there ususally isn't a waiting in line and i think state nursing schools really rake you over the coles. in my state the final grad rate of most public nursing schools is 1/3. that means 2/3 flunk out. state schools are supported by the state so they don't have to have people graduate - they just need people enrolling all the time. the more people cut from the program the easier it is for the faculty. most nursing is learned on the job through repatition. you don't have to be extremly bright to be a nurse but you have to be vigilant about things like safety. this is the thing i find amusing about state nursing schools - they make the tests so hard that most flunk but if you're that intelligent then why would you be a nurse? if you're that smart work for bill gates or make your own company. :rolleyes:

Well, the advice helps, however I don't know of any private nursing schools in my area..arrgh.

Smile Re: LPN or RN?

First of all you should contact your Board of Nursing there in Colorado. They will send you a copy of the Nurse Practice Act and Scope of Practice or you can go on line and pull it up.