Thread: Which nursing career path to choose

Which nursing career path to choose

HI all!

I am a bsn senior nursing student who is trying to decide which nursing path to choose. I have completed all but pedi and preceptorship clinicals.I have enjoyed all clinicals..but med-surg not as much.

Basically.. I would like to ask for your help. Who really enjoys the nursing career they have? The hours, pay, ability to advance their career, etc. I know each situation is different, I just need somewhere to start. We have a career fair in February and most students get their jobs at that time and before graduation.

I have seen seasoned nurses in my clinicals who hate their jobs.. I dont want to end up hating something I love so much. Thank You for any input.

Anonymous

Re: Which nursing career path to choose

Hemodialysis.

WR,,, three commas for Becca

Member Extraordinaire

like you said it depends on each person.

I have done: ortho/neuro/uro, oncology, peds, home health and L&D (which includes postpartum and gyn at my hospital)

I have liked everything I've done but I always wanted peds/nursery/L&D (my home health I saw mostly newborns)

Sure I have bad days (some days I'm about dead myself) but I also worked in a factory for 9 years so even a bad day nursing is better then that.

Is there anything you are really good at. How about families...everyone has one but some places they are much more involved at different levels (peds, L&D, nursery, ICU, home health) Is there any group you really don't like to work with?
    The good thing about nursing is you can still change your area and still be a nurse.

Thanks for your reply.

I did enjoy my nursery/L&D rotation, but I heard its not good to get into L&D because of the liability.(but what do I know. I also liked Post-Partum but all the pts spoke spanish-i know not every hospital is like that..so i could keep that into consideration.

I really didnt like med-surg, and the nursing home.

ICU wasnt so bad.