Thread: New Here...

New Here...

Hello everybody.

I am hoping to start nursing school again in May. Back in 1991 when I graduated from high school, I majored in Nursing, but I was doing really bad in A&P 2 (my professor was more of a scientist and was a really bad professor - it was his first year at the school I attended and they ended up asking him not to return the following year.) and I shadowed one of my mother's friends who was an SICU nurse and saw someone with an A line in her neck that was spurting blood and I had to go sit down cause I felt sick to my stomach. So, after I shadowed her, I went back to school, dropped A&P and changed my major. I graduated with a Bachelor's degree in Psychology & Social Work but always kicked myself for not getting the degree in nursing. I was recently laid off and I decided to go back for that degree that I always wanted. I can't afford to go to a BSN program right now, so I have been taking classes at the local community college (they are making me repeat most of the science classes because they are over seven years old...) and hopefully I will get admitted into the accelerated program that starts this coming May. I am proud to say that I received A's in both of the A&P classes that I took over the summer. They were a lot more challenging than I thought. (I graduated from a private university, so I had this idea that community college classes were going to be a walk in the park!)

(I just found this site and I thought I would introduce myself. I looked and didn't see a thread where new folks said hi and gave their story, so I started my own. If there is a place that this is supposed to go, please feel free to move this.)

Re: New Here...

Good for you for returning to nursing school. I think the best thing you did is go to a community college for your A&P classes were probly smaller and more informal.
    Welcom to the siti.

Member Extraordinaire