Thread: I'm new to dialysis nursing

I'm new to dialysis nursing

I'll be working for a chronic care dialysis center. Anyone have anything to say about how they like their job or give me any feedback? This will be my first time working with dialysis patients and I am a little nervous.

Wink Re: I'm new to dialysis nursing

hello,
    I started indialysis 13 years ago. When I started I was kind'a scared bec I'm dealing with blood all the time. Any way,I'm a tech since then and working to be rn. This is my advise to you be nice to your techs Try to be patient with them specially when they are new. About your job it easy & routine.Compare to the Hospital with 4-8 pts q shift.The longer your working there the more it gets easier.Sometimes when your pt die you get sad bec you get to know them well.
    jsjs

Cool Re: I'm new to dialysis nursing

I know that this reply is a little late, but I just recently joined the forum. Dialysis nursing is the BEST! Certainly not to take away from other nursing positions, but dialysis is great! We have the oppurtunity for educating our patients so they can becomed empowered and make healthy decisions for themselves. I started out in a chronic dialysis unit and loved it. The patients are sometimes worried about new nurses. They are not judging you for your skills, but they become very attached to "their" nurses and tech's. Try not to take offense to this. The nice thing about chronic unit's is that you develop a relationship with the patients and become part of their family. You need to give yourself at least a year to become comfortable in your setting. That's fine. I have been a dialysis nurse for 9 years and will love it the rest of my career! Best of luck and have a great time!!!