Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Floating

Floating

I work in a 14 bed ICU which includes CCU, SICU & MICU on the night shift 7pm to 7am 3 days a week. I am a nurse for more than a dozen years however I am at my facility for a year and a half. UNION RULE any RN working at the facility more than 12 years does not float. Guess what there are only two of us who float and we usually don't work on the same nights. Our patient staff ratio is 3 to 1. When I float to telemetry the ratio is 8 to 1. HELP!!!!!!!!!!

Anonymous

Re: Floating

Vote out the union.. Then everyone would float on a rotation.

WR,,, three commas for Becca

My friend.... run away!!!!!!!!!!!!

I work in an MICU that has 12 beds, our ratio is 2 to 1 and quite often 1 to 1... some really bad cases, and sometimes not. We rarely have to float because we have just enough staff to cover what we have. When there's a call out, we wind up in the weeds!

I live in Florida, and as far as I'm concerned, thank God we don't have a union. I feel like unions cause a drain on our economy. I might add that I work for a faith based organization, if that means anything in the world of business... but we are, for the most part, treated fairly, and the institution in return gets loyal workers. Most of the really good nurses have been here for more than 20 years.

It aint shangri la, but it sounds like it's a far cry from what you are dealing with. Find a better home.

Anonymous

That was my first thought too Tracy. But I have to remember some people can't leave. Sounds like this might be an older nurse..12 years in the field . Maybe leaving is an option.

Can't or wont leave? Aren't you a traveller who also happens to have a few years under her belt?