Thread: Breaking Travel Assignment Contract?

Breaking Travel Assignment Contract?

I took my first Travel Assignment two days ago with one of California's State prison. I am a psychiatric Nurse and was expecting to care for inmates with psych issues. My Travel Agency did not inform me about the type of medical settings that I will be working at the Prison. In addition, the State Prison representative did not coduct a formal interview with me before being hired by my Travel Company. That could have given me the opportunity to ask questions. Anyway, I arrived at the prison on 10/16/06 and was assigned to work in the Prison ER. I was told that they don't have such thing as a psych unit in the prison. It was so busy at the ER that the RN on duty did not have time to orient me to the job. You can imagine what happens in an ER that handles 4,000 inmates. I was overwhelmed. Two days later, I called my Travel Company to inform them that I intend to quit because I am not an ER nurse. I have never inserted an IV and have never performed some other ER nursing skills. This was not the kind of settings that I am used to working. To my greatest surprise the Company told me that if I break my contract I will have to pay back to the Company all that it will cost the company to keep me working for the Prison for a 13 weeks assignment. They claim that the Prison might turn around and sue the Travel Company for me not completing my assignment. If that happens, Iwill be responsible for all legal fees incured by the Travel Company. Unfortunately, I have not had any compensation from this company. I secured an apartment for my self and paid the first and last month rent out of pocket. I have not even received my first pay check. In spite of all these threats, I intend to quit, and I need some expert advice as to what to do. I will never do Travel Nursing again. That's it. Thanks.

Re: Breaking Travel Assignment Contract?