Thread: Newbie here

Newbie here

Hi there newbie here just like to say hi & tell you a little bit about myself. My names Phil I come from South wales in the UK, Im 34 married with two children & one on the way. I work as an Health & Social Care Worker & work in the community nursing people who suffer from a terminal illness such as Huntingtons & MS. I have worked in this post now for two years & enjoy it very much except for the shifts the powers that be give me on a weekly basis Apart from that everythings rosie. Before my current job I worked as an Auxiliary Nurse in Peadiatrics tried a spot of Phlebotomy in the local surgeries & worked with people who suffer with Dementia. Anyway thats enough of me rabbiting on will hopefully catch you fine folk around the forums.

Phil

Re: Newbie here

Hi Phil
    (I am a student nurse hoping to complete my last year). I have a daughter currently working in London. She is a qualified midwife trained in Australia but can't work as midwife there. She was telling me that some of the wards are really disorganised. For example there are no bedside charts so this means that every temp, Bp and respiration has to be remembered and entered in the charts at the central nursing station. When I have been on prac, mainly public hospitals, We have Medications & obs sheets, fluid balance, 24 hour fluid balance summary, care plan and waterlow assessment (danger of pressure are care devised by patient build, condition weight etc, post anaesthesia obs & wound care chart where applicable). All these are left by the relevant bed and the only time we need to resort to the main chart, is when we check patient history, blood tests or orders and documenting inpatient notes. We remove the med chart if needing to make up IV abs and fluid orders for checking and return it once going back to the bedside. All this saves a lot of steps and removes the need to write down