Thread: Am I losing my mind?

Am I losing my mind?

Thats what I want to know, am I losing my mind. I have been a nurse for over 13 years. When I was a new nurse I worked nights, took care of 10-11 patients and if there was a vent pt, they were in a room, no ICU then, and I took care of them too!! I don't know how, but I did. Now, for the first 10 yrs of my career, I was like everyone else in my field, I felt good about going to work, held my head high and was proud of my performance and the relationships that I had with my patients. They were MY patients, My families, My doctors, My co-workers, it was My hospital. Nursing became most stressful starting in my 11th year, or maybe I just started getting smarter to know how dangerous things were. After 12 yrs I left that hospital that I thougt I was so important to after we get a new nurse manager who changed us to team nursing. After she and I had a heated discussion that things would not be ok, if she gave me my 19th patient, I put in my 2 week notice. The hospital acted like I was nothing and let me walk without so much as a kiss goodbye. The nurse manager quite 2 weeks after I left. I transfered to another hospital in the town that I live in, I was driving 45 mins for 12 yrs, now I drive 5 mins to work. Anyway, now, I can't make myself go to work, I have paranoid thoughts about what might happen when I get there, like I might forget how to put the leads on, or how do you push Cordarone, I can't remember, my heart starts racing, I can't breath, my muscles in my shoulders get so tight my arms ache, I get to where I can't hear well, I tremble so bad that the days I do go to work, my patients can feel me tremble when I touch them. Who wants a nurse that is shaking? I think I'll just have a nervous breakdown and get it over with. But how am I going to pay my bills? Well, can't even type now, got myself worked up, looks like I have parkinsons the way I'm shaking right now. Gotta go. Thanks for reading, its like listening