Thread: NP's working as RN's...

NP's working as RN's...

Me and a coworker were debating this... once an RN becomes an NP are they able to work as a staff RN again?

Thanks for the input.

Parked in front of the computer when I am not working

Re: NP's working as RN's...

From my understanding, they can; they are nurses after all! I am sure they are held to the NP standards.

'Cat"

That's interesting. I know it didn't make sense but I had read, heard, been informed from somewhere... that once you cross that line of becoming an NP you can no longer go back to being a "regular" nurse on the floor. Such as going to a nursing home and passing pills, or in a doctor's office, or on a med-surg floor, etc.

Thanks for the reply.

One of the doctors down the street from me has a NP in his office, and my PCP has a NP, also. As I said, if they wanted to work as a floor nurse, I guess they can. Mostly they work in Clinics, Acute Care, ER's....the jobs are endless

'Cat'

Yes, but aren't they functioning as an NP? A lot of doctor's offices are using them these days.

It's part of a law... I just can't find it. I need for an actual NP to answer. I think they would for sure know.

There is often a debate about 'working at the bedside' or not, as an NP; it is often up to the individual, and their specialty. Either way I look at it, you 'are' bedside, whether working the floor or in a different setting. The NP 'is' held to a higher standard, d/t their degree.

Also, look into the various BON's as to what they say.

Quote Originally Posted by jebjow View Post
    Me and a coworker were debating this... once an RN becomes an NP are they able to work as a staff RN again?

Thanks for the input.
    Yeah I have always had this same question. thx for posting