Thread: How to manage your CNAs

Question How to manage your CNAs

I've only been an LPN for 2 months and I'm working 3rd shift in a nursing home. I'm having troubles with the CNAs and learning how to be their supervisor and make sure they are doing their work. I'm still learning how to be a nurse and I'm putting in at least an hour over my scheduled shift just to get all my nursing tasks and charting completed. I don't have down time during the night and I barely find time to take much of a lunch break (required or we get written up). I'm hearing complaints from other CNAs that my CNAs are not getting their work done or completing all that they should during the night. With all that I already am juggling to complete the nursing tasks I really don't have time to baby-sit my CNAs to make sure they are doing their work or follow them around and correct all their mistakes. I wish they would just do what they are supposed to. I'm getting really frustrated and wonder if it is a problem with just this facility or if all facilities have problems with CNAs not doing the work they are supposed to. Any tips on how to motivate the CNAs, how to manage them, how to be sure they are giving proper care, etc??? Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated!!!

Re: How to manage your CNAs