Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Does Incentive Spirometer decrease a temp?

Does Incentive Spirometer decrease a temp?

Ive been taught that it does, but a doc told a patient that was hogwash. Ive been told by other docs to have patients do it for a temp. Ive seen it work (I think), not sure if it was the IS that did it. I know it is used to decrease risk for pneumonia, but temp? Does anyone know for sure? Thanks.

Re: Does Incentive Spirometer decrease a temp?

Maybe as a secondary benefit?
    Cary James Barrett, RN, BSN

Ricu

Because hypoventilation and atelectasis are some of the most common issues plaguing the acutely ill hospital patient and predispose him/her to pneumonia, Sustained Maximal Inflation or SMI therapy is first line treatment. Incentive spirometry is a widely used patient driven modality and has been for many years. There are others too but they all basically promote lung expansion and mobilize secretions. During my career as a respiratory therapist I found that more than half of the time, the device is confusing for the patient and I was moved to just coach the deep breathing and coughing. After all, it's not mastery of the tool that gives the benefit, it's the breathing and causing the patient undue frustration is counterproductive.

R

Quote Originally Posted by Ricu View Post