Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Is 37 to old to work on a nursing degree

Is 37 to old to work on a nursing degree

Hello,

I am 37 and looking to become an RN as a career change.
    Should I start as a CNA or LPN first?
    What are your thoughts on my age?
    I currently work in the manufacturing sector as a tool designer. I am concerned with the outlook of my job along with the health issues. I spend 90% of my day sitting in front of a computer.
    Your thoughts and suggestions would be of great help!
    Thanks!!

Re: Is 37 to old to work on a nursing degree

Hi there,

I think it's great that you're considering going into nursing now. At 37, you are definitely NOT too old! There are a few "older" students in my class, a few in their 30's, a few in their 40's and 1 in his 50's. To start with I would recommend getting your CNA certification, it was required for us to get into nursing school anyway, so you may need it depending on your school requirements. Once you get your CNA, you'll get a good idea if nursing is what you want to get into and if it's the right thing for you.

[ QUOTE ]
    Jeff H said:
    Hello,

I currently work in the manufacturing sector as a tool designer. I am concerned with the outlook of my job along with the health issues. I spend 90% of my day sitting in front of a computer.
    Thanks!!

[/ QUOTE ]