Thread: working with difficult nurses

Unhappy working with difficult nurses

Hi everyone. I would like your opinion regarding an issue I am having at work. I work in a very small private hospital, in a 5 bed ED. We typically see an average of 50 patients in a 24 hr period, so we are fairly busy. Most of what we see are non-E.D. patients, with sore throats, colds for 2 weeks, lots of medicaid frequent flyers. We also get to see lots of MI's, hypothermia victims, broken bones etc. I have worked there about 5 years and have been a nurse for 23 years. I love the work, but it is my first time to work in the ED, so I am learning lots of neat stuff. The problem I am having is the Nurses I work with. They make horribly rude comments to the Patients, especially the medicaid Patients. They act as though we are doing them a huge favor by even triaging them! I have NEVER encountered this in the 23 years I have been in nursing. They are so jaded towards the Patients, that they will sit at the desk and openly laugh at them, make comments about how "dirty" they are and this one stinks and that one is "fat, must be getting a lot of food stamps", etc. Please know that I too get frustrated with Patients who are young and healthy, do not work, have a cell phone and a beeper, get Medicaid, then turn around and tell me they can't pay for their antibiotic prescription. Yes, very frustrated . But is it our place as nurses to be the judge and jury on these folks? Also, problem number two, is that the Nurse I work with regularly, has been there 15 years. She acts as though she knows everything from who ordered the roast beef at lunch to the nervous system of the gnat. EVERY time a Patient is triaged and tests are run and the Physician gives a diagnosis, she'll say "Oh, yes I knew that's what he has, I already knew that", over and over to the Physician and me. She also works at a Doctors office, who also works in the ED, and when they work the same shift with me, she is like a cat, rubbing