Thread: Nursing Questions

Nursing Questions

I'm planning on going into nursing and have a couple questions for you guys:

1) What do you like and dislike about your job?

2) Can I go into travel nursing right after I graduate? If so, how much do you think I'll be making? If not, how many yrs of experience is required for a travel nurse? Is it true that you can make up to $2,500/week as a travel nurse?

3) Is it easy to go into an administrative position with a B.S. degree in Nursing and Business Administration and a few years experience as a Nurse?

Thank you in advance for your help.

txgirl

Re: Nursing Questions

I love my job. I started out on Med/Surg 10 yrs ago, then to Neuro ICU, and stepdown. I now work as an Occupational nurse at an auto component mfr. I would never have tried this specialty without having at least a couple of years under your belt. I have been in my current job for 9 years, and only had 2 1/2 in M/S, and every ICU where I worked. I still rely heavily on my hospital-based experience. If it was me starting out, knowing what I know, and having the experience I do, I would still do it the same way. I think it would be wiser to get some time in. Nursing school doesn't end at graduation. I gain new experiences and knowledge every day. As far as the Admin position: better you than me. Been there, done that. I like being an Indian, not a chief.
    Good Luck

Hi txgirl,
    Welcome to the nursing forums! Ok, I'll try to give you some answers from my perspective at any rate.