Thread: Don't know where to start

Unhappy Don't know where to start

Well I just came clean to my family this weekend. My addiction is to Vicodin/Norco. I have been battling this addiction for 3 years now on and off. I am still within my 90 day prbation period with my new job. I think that I need rehab and possible detox. My insurance doesnt' kick in until June 1. How do I go about calling in sick to work for this. THe place that I found does not report to employers. PLEASE HELP

Re: Don't know where to start

Good for you for admitting your addiction. I would suggest to first contact your doctor or hospital, and they will most likely put you in touch with a rehab unit that will most likely accept some sort of payment plan. I feel for you...it's really a hard disease. Good luck.

Good for you for admitting to your addiction. It is a very difficult thing to do.
    I found that rehab saved my life. While there are many people who were able to beat their addiction with the help of a 12 step program, I needed a more intensive type of program. While I am primarily an alcoholic, I was taking Vicodin from work along with getting it via prescription. I was reported to my state board of nursing, but had self-reported prior to the complaint being received. I am currently in our state's diversion program.
    There is lots of help out there, you just need to reach out for it.