Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: NANDA nursing diagnosis

Anonymous

NANDA nursing diagnosis

Hello, I am a student nurse (LVN), and had a question about one of the NANDA nursing diagnoses. What exactly is a diagnosis of "Disturbed Energy Field" referring to? I thought it might have something to do with electrolyte balance, but I am not sure. Any information on this topic would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Anonymous

Re: NANDA nursing diagnosis

The DX "disturbed energy field" can be traced back to a particular nursing theorist that believed that the body has an energy field that surrounds it and that when that energy field is disturbed it leads to illness. I should be able to remembe the theorist right now but I can't... I'd have to look it up. It might have been Martha Rogers or something like that . Anyway. for what its worth... thats where that DX came from.

You can read more about the diagnosis and related therapies here:

"NANDA, the North American Nursing Diagnosis Association, in 1994, adapted the nursing diagnosis: "Disturbed Energy Field". The definition of the diagnosis is: "A disruption of the flow of energy surrounding a person's being which results in a disharmony of the body, mind and/or spirit".

The Healing Touch program teaches the healing philosophies and methods of well known healers, such as Alice Bailey, Dr. Brugh Joy, Rosalyn Bruyere, Barbara Brennan, Rudy Noel, Rod Campbell and Janet Mentgen. Throughout the program students enhance their self-understanding and intuitive skills.

Research in Healing Touch has a great start and several studies have been completed with more underway. Healing Touch International has employed a nurse researchers to coordinate and track Healing Touch research. Currently we have a 80 page printout description of past, current and proposed HT research projects posted on our web page."
    http://stevehtouch.bizland.com/Info/Information.htm