Thread: Drastic career change- New student seeking advice

Drastic career change- New student seeking advice

I am so happy I stumbled upon this website. I am currently an accountant desperately trying to make a drastic career change into nursing. I have been taking the prerequisite classes for over a year now while I am waiting to get into the actual nursing program. The good news is at the rate I am going I will be very close to a BSN when I finish the 2 yr program I am going for. Here is my problem. I have 4 RN's and 2 LPN's in my family. Most of them are doing everything they can to steer me away from nursing. I am extremely excited about making this career change but after a while they are starting to scare me. They are making me second guess myself. The thing is, I am 25 years old and only know the business world. I am extremely bored with my job. I've looked into taking a CNA class to get my feet wet but so far the classes conflict w/ my 60 hr work /part-time school schedule. Can anyone out there help me out. If you had it to do all over again, would you choose nursing? I have yet to meet/talk to a nurse that likes their job. Please tell me you are out there!!

Re: Drastic career change- New student seeking advice

Hi...while I'm also working on my pre-reqs and not a nurse, I have had similar experiences as you with current nurses. I know that I am excited & am enjoying all my classes. I THINK that I will feel this way in clinicals also. I understand that nursing is a stressful job & that burn out occurs. On the positive side, I do have a friend who is an RN and was in the NICU for the past 5 years or so. She needed a change & switched to the OR. She loves it & feels as if she's in a whole "new" job. That is what I'm counting on for myself. When burnout occurs, looking into other opportunities. Good luck to you & don't let anyone make your decision for you! [img]/ubbthreads/images/icons/smile.gif[/img]