Thread: NCLEX.... HELP!!!!

NCLEX.... HELP!!!!

I need help from all you experienced nurses out there. I graduated nursing school in December 2003 and took the NCLEX the first time in February 2004 and failed, I took it again in June 2004 and failed again. I'm going to blame it on the fact that I was pregnant and my hormones were all over the place because I know I'm a good nurse. I have been complimented numerous times, but I just can't seem to pass this damn board exam (I've never been the best test taker). I know that if someone from the BRN just came to a hospital and watched me work they would give me a license right there, but no, we have to pass the NCLEX first.

My question is.. Does anyone out there have any advice for me. I plan on taking it again in March, now that I'm no longer pregnant and my hormones are back to normal.

Is anyone has been in a similar situation or can give me any advice I would greatly appreciate it. I know I can do it and I'm not going to give up... the 3rd times a charm... right???

Member Extraordinaire

Re: NCLEX.... HELP!!!!

I know some good nurses who haven't passed NCLEX the first time. Did you take a review class? get review books look for the best answer...look at sample tests...what did you miss? don't study what you know study what you don't.

Yes, I took the Kaplan review course, which cost me $400 and I thought it did nothing for me. Fortunately, Kaplan guarantees that you'll pass the first time or they'll refund your money, so I got my $400 back. I have tried the Saunders book and Mosby review. For some reason I just can't seem to get it so I thought maybe all you RN's out there would have some helpful pointers. It just seems as though they test you on things that you'll NEVER ever use.

Member Extraordinaire