Thread: help! cant decide RN or BSN worth 1more yr

help! cant decide RN or BSN worth 1more yr

I have committed to earning my RN in 3, or my BSN in 4. Is waiting an extra year of much value? I'm leaning towards RN in 3, will I earn less money? So many options, Jason.

You won't earn less money... all your employer will care about is the "RN" on the end of your name.

I got a diploma, no bsn. I wish I would've got the bsn. Now that I want to be a nurse practitioner, I have an extra 2 years to go... meaning 4-5 years total to get my ANP. If you ever want your bsn, it'll take you an additional 2-3 years to get it later (most schools only give about 35-40 credits for a diploma, and the bsn requires about 120). If you just want to be a bedside nurse, and you know you'll never want to be more, just get the 3 year RN. If you think you may want to be an NP one day, I strongly suggest getting the bsn to start with. Also, if you think you'll just want to be a bedside nurse, that may change when you get in school and actually start working. I thought I'd only want to be a bedside nurse also... I've been out one year and can't wait to get away from the bedside.
    Jeremy

Re: help! cant decide RN or BSN worth 1more yr

Quote Originally Posted by trek1500mn View Post
    I have committed to earning my RN in 3, or my BSN in 4. Is waiting an extra year of much value? I'm leaning towards RN in 3, will I earn less money? So many options, Jason.
    I highly recommend BSN program. The value is the opportunites of having a BSN over ADN. At first, the pay is the same. Yet, in the long run having a BSN provides more career opportunites.
    Cary James Barrett, RN, BSN

bsn, i have my ad and wished i had gotten my bsn, it would have only been one more semster for me but the stupid counselor didn't tell me that, i figured it out later

bsn, you ever want to write for anything book magazine, talk at conferences, LETTERS are good.