Thread: Nursing ranks

Nursing ranks

Hi there I am a nursing student in South Africa, I would like to know what the differant ranks are in the USA, here we have the care worker who basically can only do washes and feed patients, then there is the ENA or enrolled nursing assistant who does the above but also basic observations eg vitals, hgt's, Hb's etc, then we have EN or enrolled nurses who are also called staff nurses, this is my level at present, we do basically everything from washes to meds, dressings, I.V's, bloods assesments etc basically everything the RN does but without the authority but we have to do it due to understaffing issues - nursing ratios of 1:9 at times! and the RN has all the above duties plus management. Is it much the same there in the USA or totally differant?

Exclamation Re: Nursing ranks

Quote Originally Posted by qcumba View Post
    Hi there I am a nursing student in South Africa, I would like to know what the differant ranks are in the USA, here we have the care worker who basically can only do washes and feed patients, then there is the ENA or enrolled nursing assistant who does the above but also basic observations eg vitals, hgt's, Hb's etc, then we have EN or enrolled nurses who are also called staff nurses, this is my level at present, we do basically everything from washes to meds, dressings, I.V's, bloods assesments etc basically everything the RN does but without the authority but we have to do it due to understaffing issues - nursing ratios of 1:9 at times! and the RN has all the above duties plus management. Is it much the same there in the USA or totally differant?
    "...basically everything the RN does but without the authority but we have to do it due to understaffing issue - nursing ratios of 1:9 at times!"