Thread: How to handle discrimination on the job!

Unhappy How to handle discrimination on the job!

How to handle discrimination on the job!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am an African-American nurse one of only 4 at my job. When I first hired the number was a lot more. However, due to normal turn over a few left. We have had in the past 18months about 10 new nurses only one of which is an african-american and she is the wife of a new doctor on staff. I know for fact that at least 6 nurses that i have encouraged to apply have never had call backs, wheres at least 3 of the new hires are less qualified with considerably less experience and through their admission were hired on the spot, before any references or skills were verified. I am completely horrified by this. Even though i have never encountered any incidents personally and have always been treated fairly I am still hurt and feel completely demoralized and discriminated against. One situation is especially disturbing. A new assist employed by the hospital for 15 years completed her lpn studies and applied for a job. She was offered $10.30/hr, only $1 difference in her pay. So naturally she turned it down and sought employment elsewhere, a couple of months later a newly graduated nurse on staff left her check stub on the nurses desk and i had to look. She was being paid $11.50! She graduated the same time as the former employee who is african-american. I know that this is discrimination but I donot know the proper channels to go through to handle these situations, can someone please help me!

Re: How to handle discrimination on the job!

Oohhhh... no one's gonna touch that one!

Maybe you should file a complaint with the EEOC and let them investigate it.
    :houra:

You think you got troubles, try being a man and living in a backwoods community that is primarily catholic; oh yea, did I mention that I'm a protestant.