Thread: Crime & Licensure

Question Crime & Licensure

Hi all - I'm a little new here, but here goes. I'm a student in FL, getting ready to graduate in December. I'm faced with the daunting task of applying to the BON with a criminal record. Here's the worst of it: drugs. Now, here are the circumstances.

This is a charge that I plead 'no contest' to 18 years ago, at the age of 18.

Adjudication of guilt was withheld.

The record has since been sealed (NOT expunged) by the courts.

I have about 10 letters of recommendation from faculty, clinical supervisors, and the dean of my CON.

I'm a straight A student, board member of FNSA, etc.

Someone with experience in this matter, please tell me, what are my chances?

Thanks to any / all who reply.

Member Extraordinaire

Re: Crime & Licensure

It depends on the nature of the charges- misdemeanor vs. felony, violent vs. non-violent crime, whether it was drug-related, etc.....

Before applying for my first position, I was concerned about my record (I was pretty wild as a teenager! I had a few alcohol-related misdemeanor convictions).

My attorney advised me to send for my record from the Virginia state police, to see how much they had on file. So I did, and my record came back with nothing on it.

On my job application, I had to list previous addresses- I had recent addresses in a couple different counties (Arlington and Fairfax, VA). I also indicated on the application that I had no criminal record (as that was my understanding).

After being offered a position at the pediatric hospital, I later received a call saying the offer had been "recincted", because I had failed to disclose a certain misdemeanor conviction. I explained that I had a copy of my record from the State Police that had no such conviction on it. They explained to me that they had checked with the COUNTIES I HAD PREVIOUSLY LIVED IN, as indicated on my application.