Thread: would like to interview a nurse

would like to interview a nurse

I am a nursing student, I am doing an assignment on ethical dilemmas. If you were a nurse and you saw that a surgeon did not account for a suture after a patient had an operation, would you report this incident to the supervisor?
    one suture is still inside the patient, and the surgeon does not want the patient to know about this. Thank you

nursing student

Re: would like to interview a nurse

It depends...were they dissolving stitches???

Member Extraordinaire

I'm guessing you mean there is a needle still inside. Everyone is accountable for the count with the circulator and the scrub tech doing the counting. If the count is wrong at the end of a case you should get and x-ray. Also if there is an emergency and no time to count when the case starts you should get an x-ray when the case is over. The doc can order no x-ray but you have to document that doc ordered no x-ray. If you report count is correct and it's not then it's your butt.

Thank you for the reply to the email. I don't know if the stitches were absorbable. The incident was discussed with the surgeon with another nurse, but the surgeon said that the suture would not harm the patient. the other nurse is not sure if she should discuss this with someone else.

Here is a related Malpractice case. Sponges, instruments and other items are left in patients more often than hospitals care to admit. They're a major cause of malpractice suits.

May 23, 1999: Sponge Count Off, Patient Develops Sepsis, Surgeon Blames Nurse.
    Sponge Counts are a basic and critical safety measure during a surgical operation. In this case, the standard three counts were not performed. A sponge was left in the patient that would later lead to infection. When the issue went to court, the surgeon claimed "it was not his responsibility" to keep track of the sponges. Johnston v. Southwest Louisiana Assn. 693 So. 2d 1195 –LA (1997)