View Poll Results: Nurses, do you have internet access at your work?

Voters
6. You may not vote on this poll
  • Full access

0 0%
  • Filtered access

2 33.33%
  • No access

4 66.67%

Thread: Internet at work... Need some comparisons

Internet at work... Need some comparisons

Hello all,

I am new here and sought out this forum to gather some quick information from as many nurses in other places as possible. I am a nurse iin an Emergency Department in a small to mid sized county hospital in North Carolina. I am writing to ask if you have internet access at your work. I am asking because we do not, essentially our access has been blocked because of the actions of one hospital employee (not even a nurse) and I am involved in the fight to get it back. In the past I have used the internet at work for everything from Taber's online to pdr.org to babelfish (for quick and dirty spanish translations) and now the same information services group that has me spending 75% of my day at a very poor computer system to do mind numbing and poorly flowing charting has taken from me the single best information gathering tool ever created. I guess that tells you where I stand. If you can let me know if you have internet access, is it full or filtered, and any problems that have resulted from your access that would be great. If you don't have a problem naming your workplace that would help me, if you do not want to, I understand. Thanks in advance, I look forward to having some armament when I meet.

Parked in front of the computer when I am not working

Re: Internet at work... Need some comparisons

Only certain people get access. The Administrator and the MDS coordinator. Oh, and the DON has been known to hit either of those computers, too.

'Cat'

Member Extraordinaire