Thread: Music Therapy and Nursing

Music Therapy and Nursing

Hello,
    Just joined the forum because I have tossed the idea of becoming a nurse around. I am currently a Music Therapist (new to the field having graduated in May 04 with a Bachelor of Music in Music Therapy). Ultimately I would like to somehow combine Music Therapy with nursing. I haven't quite figured out how or where but it is something that intrigues me. Anyway, since I am much more involved in the music therapy scene I was just curious to see what the nursing scene is like as far as music therapy is concerned. Has anyone out there ever been involved in a music therapy session as a nurse? If so what was your opinion of it? What do nurses in general know about the field of music therapy? I am just curious. I would love to hear anyone's thoughts and opinions and questions if you have any.
    Alissa

Re: Music Therapy and Nursing

Hello Alissa,

Personally, I've heard of music therapy but never seen it used where I worked. I wouldn't have any problem believing that the pleasure people get from listening to music can be therapeutic.

There are other nurses, that have quite a bit of experience. One you may want to contact is:

Susan Magrath R.N. A.N.P., Instructor of Nursing:"Susan has taught at Ball State University for one year, primarily in the areas of acute and critical care. Currently she is involved as a Board Certified Nurse Practitioner in a local pain management clinic.

Prior to joining the nursing faculty, she was employed at Ball Memorial Hospital (BMH) for 15 years and practiced as a registered nurse in critical care and hospice. Her research and special interest areas focus on palliative care and complementary therapies.