Thread: I need you input please

I need you input please

Hey couganurse and everyone else, I am new to the board and must say reading everyone's post has been helpful but I am asking for your help. I have a 4 yr degree in Mass Communications and my career consists of 8 years of outside sales, 4 years of banking and management and lastly 3 years of residential construction and we all know how well that's going especially in Tampa. Anyway I am getting in nursing because I've always wanted to do it but was always scared to go back once I was in my other careers. Anyway here's my sit. I have no med./ nurse exp. I only need ant/phy 1 & 2 and micro to start nurse school. (12 creds.) but they won't accept me until I've completed them all and app deadlines are mid sem so that puts me at fall 09'. As the saga continues, I am starting PCT and a phlebotomy course at the end of Feb. I guess my questions are what can I expect as a pct/ CNA until nursing school? Can you work during nursing school? And since I have a B.S. in Mass Comm. do I need to get a BSN or will an RN w/ my degree suffice? Any and all input will be appreciated because my head is spinning.

Parked in front of the computer when I am not working

Re: I need you input please

Welcome to the site!

In regards to your questions.....here it goes: As a PCT/CNA, you are the eyes/ears of the nurse. Sometimes you will notice things that we nurses don't. Yes, you will be doing alot of hands on care, such as cleaning, feeding, etc. (I often try to do this, too, but don't always have the time/ability.) Yes, you can work while attending school. To be honet, it was the only way I got through the last 2 semesters of school, myself! Make sure you have enough time to study, though.

As for the degree...you can always get your Associates Degree first, and then go on for your BSN later.

'Cat'