Thread: Considering nursing need some advice...

Considering nursing need some advice...

I am a 30 year old accountant, married with 2 daughters. I have come to realize that the accounting world is not for me. I am too extroverted and relational for it. When I was a little girl I always wanted to be a teacher or a nurse. So over the last few weeks I have spent a long time asking myself what do I want to be when I grow up.

I keep coming back to nursing. But there are 3 things that have me worried...
    1) I have a weak stomach. I can handle my own kids' puke and poop, etc, but I don't always find it easy to be around other peoples. Being a Mom has helped my stomach but it still isn't steel that's for sure.
    2) I have a real fear of needles. Am I going to pass out the first time I have to stick someone? And I'm so nervous as a person is that is going to make it worse?
    3) No one in my family thinks I can be a nurse because of my stomach and my fear of needles.

Should I even try it in light of all these things. I want to be in a career where I make a difference, help people, and has room to try new things.

Thanks for any and all advice!

Re: Considering nursing need some advice...

Hi there!

Those things can definitely impair your performance but most people, including myself, have become more desensitized to it. The fact that you have learned to deal with your children is a good sign that you will get past it.

For me, it had a lot of it had to with willpower, rationalization, genuine concern for the patient and constant exposure. So let me tell you about my experience.