Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Depression in Nursing

Depression in Nursing

Are their any nurses that suffer from depression and are still working and on meds.

Re: Depression in Nursing

I have been a nurse for 20+ years and have been on antidepressant for several years and still work. It took many tries with meds to find the one that wouldn't make me sleepy or walk around like a zombie but i did find one and i can still work. Nursing is a hard job and the stress can really get to you. if you need to take meds then do. you can still work and function. never give up

I discovered shortly after I became a nurse that I had depression and anxiety. The doctors tried many antidepressants. Prozac made me even worse. Narcotics didn't really help me either. Just recently, my doctor placed me on lexapro and buspar. I noticed a difference almost right away. I don't feel sleepy or have any side effects that I know of. Not even dry mouth! Nursing is stressful and I find that these work best for me. Good luck and don't forget about therapy to go along with the meds

I was on antidepressants and had a very mixed experiences with other nurses when they found out. Some actually called them mind altering drugs and was totally against their use for nurses.

Hello fellow nurses,