Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: NYC traveling

NYC traveling

AHHHHH!!! I am so frustrated! Let me begin with a hello. I am brand new to traveling and really want to go to NYC. I have been talking to 4 companies about it and have been meeting a lot of walls due to lack of positions and high cost of housing. So, FINALLY last Friday I had a phone interview with a nurse manager from Beth Israel hospital and I just looked at some HORRIFIC posts on here about that place. I am also turned off b/c it has PBDS testing. But I have been looking for a month now for a position there and I need/ want to be there by June 1st(ish). I don't want to take a position out of pure desperation but I am afraid another won't come along...
    Any advice/info/tips??
    Thanks so much!

Member Extraordinaire

Re: NYC traveling

Go with your gut- if it sounds like a bad assignment, it probably is. You're better off taking an assignment somewhere else than taking it and being miserable or putting your license at risk....
    Amanda, RN, BSN
    Ex-Traveler Extraordinaire,
    Resident Trauma Queen

What is your specialty?
    If it's med surg tele, you will be slammed and it's not worth the stress. It is not a friendly place.
    Columbia Presbyterian is a good place.

ICU. I am talking with the nurse manager again tomorrow. When I spoke with her the first time I actually got a good vibe, but I am still really worried...
    We shall see. There are no other postings in NYC at this time and that's with 4 companies working on it. So I am debating on taking this one if it's offered to me and sucking it up for 13 weeks...I can deal with pretty much anything for 13 weeks...I hope. Then I will look for something better once I am there if it is awful.
    I am actually more worried about the stupid PBDS...ugh.

I just got a job at Sloan