Thread: Advice needed

Advice needed

Hi everyone. This is my first post. I found this site searching out info on travel nursing. I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice. My story is: I graduated from nursing school in May, 2002. I got married Sept. 2002. I didn't take boards until Feb, 2003, and got my first job April, 2003. I worked on an oncology/med-surg floor, mainly 7p to 7a only until December, 2003. I started teaching a course, Health 103, for my old nursing instructors in January 2004. I've been doing that every semester since then, except for Fall 2005. My daughter Anna was born in October 2005, and I am just now feeling like I can go back into nursing. I didn't particularly want to go back to the floor, but the idea is not out completely. I LOVE psych nursing (my brother is one of the best psych nurses around, but the only local hospital that has a psych unit mainly has in-house hires. I feel like I am at a crossroads. I don't know if I should go back to a med-surg floor; go to the ER or ICU; go into home health; start travel nursing; or WHAT. Another thing to consider is: with only 9 months of experience, what would I be eligible for outside of a hospital? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Re: Advice needed

Hello Karen,

Most travel nursing companies require 1-2 years of acute care hospital experience within the past three years. the reason is that when you take a travel assignment, you're expected to "hit the ground running" and be able to function with minimal orientation or supervision.

You'll probably need to go back to work for a bit before you can think about traveling.

ICU, CCU, ER and other specialty nurses are in higher demand than med/surg. If you have to make a choice, I'd go into critical care vs a generalist type of nursing.

You can find some interesting articles on traveling here, http://www.nursefriendly.com/traveler

Wish you well:

Andrew Lopez, RN
    http://www.nursinga2z.com

Re: Advice needed