Thread: First quarter RN student

First quarter RN student

I am a first quarter RN student, I am a little overwhelmed, there is so much you have to study that I dont know where to start, Is there anyone that could give me some really good study guides.....PLEASE HELP ME this is the first week of school and I am already stressing......

Re: First quarter RN student

It does help to have a study partner, but if you realy want to succeed just read, read, read and then read some more. If you take notes in class (NO IFS ABOUT IT)(WELL MABY JUST ONE)(IF YOU DON'T TAKE NOTES [HANG IT UP NOW] YOU ARE IN TROUBLE) copy those notes a couple of times the very same night you took them (yes I said a couple of times). This sounds like a lot of extra work, but it ""WILL"" pay off come time for exams.
    Take frequent breaks (this allows you to digest some of the valuable knowledge you have been trying to swallow).
    Drugs, drugs, drugs, you will (IF YOU STUDY THE PROPER WAY) get sick and tired of looking up drug after drug after drug after drug after...... GET MY POINT. you will be able to recite verbatum the possible side effects of TYLENOL.... ett-all.
    You will "KNOW" why you don't give levathroid with a multi-vitamin, and why its so important to give P/O zink to someone with a pressure ulcer.
    I hope you kept that old Anatomy and Physiology book you thaught you wouldn't need any more, it's a good place to find some of those hard to understand meathods/ routs of action like the first pass effect, IE: Halflife and why some drugs given in small doses (mcg) treat this dissorder, but in larger doses (Mg) it has a different therapeutic effect.....