Thread: I'm considering nursing as a career and need help!

I\'m considering nursing as a career and need help!

I'm going through a career change. I was a computer programmer, now I'm a sales manager and in both cases I've been laid off due to a)the economy or b)corporate buyout. I can't afford to go through these changes and I'm tired of feeling like another brick in the corporate pyramid.

From what I've read, it appears that nurses have great union benefits. Is this true? Is it also true that it's easy to find a job once out of school? Is it true that male nurses get paid more than female nurses? What type of nurse gets paid the most and what's required to get this type of compensation? Is nursing better than being a Physician Assistant? How does it compare to other fields like Physical Therapy? Does Nursing match this field dollar for dollar?

I'm really tired of doing unrewarding work and want to do something better with my life - but at the same time I don't want to starve and I don't want to put my family through more financial hardships.

Thanks for reading this and I'm very grateful for this site.

Re: I\'m considering nursing as a career and need help!

I'll tell you like I was told in LPN school . Don't go into nursing for the money. Yes you probably can make $60-70K But you'll work for it. You won't come out of school making that kind of money and when you get to that level you will be maxed out.

Go into nursing if you want to help people, if you care about others, and if you don't mind working weekends, nights, and holidays. If you don't mind being treated as inferior by many docs. That is improving though I will say.

As for unions. Unions are only as strong as their members. Nurses are not notorious for "getting along". Remember it's mainly a woman's field. And you know what's it's like having two women in the kitchen.

Go into nursing for the art of nursing. Not for money you won't be happy if you do and all that money won't be worth it.

JMHO