Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: To Bathe or not to bathe

To Bathe or not to bathe

Well mark this day down, I actually gave a bed bath today. Usually 11-7 takes care of that most basic of nursing tasks. But I followed another male nurse and you know how those guys are. <j/k> So there I was . . . basin of hot water, soap, three wash cloths, three towels, water everywhere; on the bed, floor, walls, some on the patient. One of my fellow nurses comes up to me and asked why I was using water and not the ReadyBath? If you don't know what those are, they are eight moistened pads in a package that is heated in the microwave for 45 seconds. There is one towel for each of the body parts that are bathed. No rinsing, no drying. I've used them a couple of times for code brown but refuse to use them for complete baths on awake alert patients. Am I being too Old School?

O_S

Re: To Bathe or not to bathe

Absolutely not, Old School! I graduated in 2001, so that still makes me a new nurse. I dont think a bath is done right unless the patient, bed, floor, etc... is WET! The ready baths are convenient for "code browns" or for freshening up a patient but, I hate to say this, but they still smell when you're done. Nothing beats good old soap and water!

The best bath is with water and a REAL BAR OF SOAP. I sometimes squirt shaving cream in the water of my really smelly patients as well.

Well it kind of depends really. For some people those ready made baths are ok and I've seen ones that are nice, they smell good and dont' dry out the skin like soap and water do.

However if you have a really sweaty patient or dirty, i feel that soap and H20 works well. At our hospitl we have a no rinse body soap that works well on our patients. Just wet wash cloth and dump some of the no rinse solution on the wash cloth and go to work.

I think its personal preferance really as well as product. Some do the job better than others. But its your patient and you can do as you wish (well bath wise!)