Thread: Improving efficiency of operating room

Improving efficiency of operating room

Hi,

I am a grad student working on "improving efficiency of operating room" research.

What are the major issues that lead to inefficiency problems in the OR?

You experience and knowledge can be very helpful for me.

Thanks

Re: Improving efficiency of operating room

Quote Originally Posted by uzay View Post
    Hi,

I am a grad student working on "improving efficiency of operating room" research.

What are the major issues that lead to inefficiency problems in the OR?

You experience and knowledge can be very helpful for me.

Thanks
    I relize this is an old thread, but i think one of the number one things that would improve efficiency would be if everyone working their pulled their weight, did their share. And i've learned in 2 years that there are some people that just like the idea of being titled an OR nurse, yet do not want to get their hands dirty.
    [FONT=Comic Sans MS][U][B]Marie[/B][/U], RN in O.R, pursuing BSN, semester [U]?[/U] of [U]?[/U]:)[/FONT]

[FONT=Comic Sans MS][B]Supposedly 8 out of 10 people suffer from hemorrhoids. Does that mean that the other 2 people [I]enjoy[/I] them???:confused:[/B][/FONT]
    [B][FONT=Comic Sans MS][/FONT][/B]
    [B][FONT=Comic Sans MS]My little peapod has arrived :).[/FONT][/B]

Re: Improving efficiency of operating room

no sour grapes ladies= re improving efficiency in the OR.
    1. accurate pick list/pref. cards with adequate detail info regarding surgeon prefernce
    2. ancillary staff to stage equipment, restock rooms, gofer extras etc.
    3. adequate equipment so the great scavenger hunt does not need to occur
    4. always have min. of three staff assigned to each room-third person could be shared with another room if needed.