Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Reality: two years exp. minimum needed to travel; comments welcome

Reality: two years exp. minimum needed to travel; comments welcome

After doing what I thought was a tremendous amount of research, I decided to try travel nursing after one year experience as an RN at a large, magnet, teaching hospital ranked very high in the nation. I actually hated it there, plus the new building is toxic, so leaving was in my plans no matter what. I also decided I didn't like that city.

After interviewing two other travel agencies I settled on a third that got good reviews, and with a recruiter I really like. Fortunately I have a free place to live for as long as I want, lots of savings, and wanted some time off to study for the GRE for graduate school. I am 47 so I have a lot of life experience, and I have great nursing references.

On all the various sites they say that one year of experience is required. Nowhere in all my research did I find mention of the fact that, in reality, the facilities want atleast two years of experience in a specific area, and consider that the bare minimum. They really want several years experience. Knowing that, I would have left UCLA (oops) anyway but would not have wasted my time trying travel nursing.

This morning I had an interview with a prescreener named "Kathy" who works for Nurse Finders. She does these traveler prescreen interviews for facilities prior to the real interview. This one was for Kaiser in San Rafael. I wasn't keen on having to work at Kaiser since I know too much about them, but I know I can't be picky without more experience. "Kathy" knew beforehand that I only had one year experience. She was never going to pass me onto the facility for interview because of that, but apparently wanted to get her two cents in with me.