Thread: Nursing school or Physician assistant school

Nursing school or Physician assistant school

Hi, I am new here and I have to say this web-site has really opened my eyes to the nursing field.

I am a 27 year old male, I have a BS in Biology and a degree in chiropractic. I graduated chiro school Dec 2003 and recently decided that chiropractic is not for me.

So, my next step is going back to school for something else which I have narrowed down to two careers. One is nursing because my mother is a nurse in the ICU dept. Two is a physician's assistant.

Currently I am in the process of applying to an accelerated BSN and also to a physician assistant program. I think I have a good shot at getting into either one of the programs - if I could make up my mind.

Here are the things that I am attracted to in nursing. It looks like a rewarding career where there are endless amounts of jobs and opportunities. I would like to get into travel nursing ASAP. The pay is also very generous which I need to pay back my student loans

The physician assistant profession is also attractive. It seems like more of a 9-5 job with good pay. I could see myself working in an orthopedic surgeon's office doing exams and helping out with surgery.

If anyone can point me in the right direction I would love you. I can't say that this has been an easy decision to change careers but I only see the chiropractic profession spiraling downward in the future.

Thank you

Re: Nursing school or Physician assistant school

Hi malestudent welcome to the forums. Sorry to hear that chiropractic is not for you. My guy has really helped me with assorted sport related injuries. He's Canadian and uses an air driven hammer for his adjustments. You do need about 3-5 visits for it to be effective though. He also uses Vax-D for herniated disks. Lots of glowing testimonials about this Rx.