Thread: Should I expect to be paid well in LTC??

Should I expect to be paid well in LTC??

I got a job offer in LTC I was seriously thinking of taking.
    Everything looks good....

*the job is 3 min from my home

*the hours fit well into my lifestyle 10:30p-6:30a & 6:30p-6:30a

*the scheduling seems to be fair- done be HR/ & requests are honored in a timely fashion

*benefits are excellent~ no chnge in mds/ coverage

*& ofcourse free parking.

The downside.........Evidently they will hire me but at 1.50 les per hour!!! They say they want to be fair to their current employees & NOT hire someone off the street at more per hour than someone that has been there 5 or 10 years. Uh?! How can they do this what about cost of living, etc. If I take this offer it's is literally like taking a step backward in salary 4 years! Then they say they will pay me what I am worth.~ I have 13+ years experience in a hopital setting working w/ cardiovascular med/surg pts & 6 years experince in LTC. & they want to start me at 1.50 less per hour?! They say the 5% shift differential makes up for that......... but it doesn't take the place of $$ per hour IMO??!

Am I way off base here?

btw~ (to put this in perspective think of it this way)
    Imagine they said there salary range was between
    1$-6$ per hour

(I think good I should be able to come in w/ my level experience at 2.50-3.00 per hour: cuz currently I make 2.26 per hour but I have a raise coming in august.. so that is the least I should expect/except...)

The HR lady throws some #'s I thought/ believed we left it at starting salary at 1.50 an hour w/ the idea that that it would increase 2.25 at the end of my probationary period in 3 months...NOT GREAT~ I would be right where I am now minus my raise in august at my current job... but I would be saving on gas $$ & parking garage at the hospital.

So I accept~ a little reluctently; but excited about the change....