Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: career change? electrician to RN? discouraged

career change? electrician to RN? discouraged

I am a 27 year old male who has worked in construction ,as an electrician, for the last 7 years. In high school, I wanted to become a RN. when I went to colllege, I was young and liked to party at the time and didn't do as good in school as I should have. I got my nurse aide liscence and worked as a patient care assistant on a med/surg floor for a couple of months. I was very discouraged with school and work. At work, all I ever did was give baths and change dirty depends. With me being a male alot of female patients didn't want me to to bath them. With this discouragement I left the medical field and went to go work as an electrician. I have been doing this for about 7 years. I enjoy my job, but my body is taking a beating. Two years ago I dislocated 3 vertebre from a fall and just recently I had to have arthoscopic surjury on my knee for torn cartlidge. At this rate by time I'm 50 I'll be in a will chair. I decided it was time for a career change. I have always had a love for the medical field and nursing. My shows are all on discover health channel (the critical hour, trama; life in the ER). I know that I would love to work in the ER. But, I don't know what holding me back. I think I just need some words of encouragement. My wife is currently in her last year of nursing school. She knows I have a love for nursing but she's not giving me the encouragement I need to take the next steps. Anybody out there ever gone through this before? Any words of encouragement?