Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Where do you think nursing is headed in bad economic times?

Exclamation Where do you think nursing is headed in bad economic times?

I have been a nurse for 15 years and I am beginning to become concerned about the nursing field lately. Presently, I am a traveler on my third assignment and I have begun to notice some disturbing things during my travels:

1. Hospitals are beginning to eliminate travel positions since they are too costly. Many hospitals are losing some of their most talented nurses for this reason and are deciding to put non experienced new grads into acute assignments in which they simply don't belong. For instance, one facility I know of is taking new grads and giving them a three month orientation into the ER and ICU. I believe they are forcing them to sign 2 years contracts stipulating that they stay to recoup their educational expenses. The problem is that the vast majority of experienced nurses are travelers and when they leave they will be left with few experienced RNS in that specialty. I have nothing against new grads but the fact is that the quality of education of our new grads is at best inconsistent. To ensure that RNS know how to operate independently in an acute care setting, they will need far more time than 3 months to possess the skills needed to be assured and confident in critical situations. I have worked in similar situations where I was the one with experience leading several new grads and the results were nothing less than disastrous. The new grads simply could not handle acute patients and I ended up taking most of them and running a 24 bed adult/peds unit. I eventually quit do to burnout.The hospitals which institute such programs can be assured that the quality of care will probably suffer. In addition, most of those who are trained will leave after 2 years since many hospitals are seeking trained nurses thus making the training programs a financial loss in the long run.