Thread: Age 41....Registered for pre reqs

Red face Age 41....Registered for pre reqs

Yipes! I made the leap after 13 years of "thinking about it".

I work full time, 5:00 am to 1:30 pm. Have 2 tenns a nd a 4 yr old at home.

Can my brain handle it?

There are so many young nurse at the hosp. where I work. Hard to actually see the shortage.

Please offer encouragement!!!

Thank You all!

****o TessaJetta,

You can make it! I was 40 when I went to LVN school, now at 44, I'm in my 2nd semester of a 3 semester LVN to RN transition program. It is hard, sometimes it makes me wonder if it is all worth it, but I think it is going to be well worth it in the long run. Think of it this way, you will be the same age in say 3 years whether or not you go for it. Good Luck! and hang in there!

Julia

Thank you

That was my first post. I appreciate your encouragement.

You Can Do It

Hey Tessa, I'm 56 and just started my second year of a 2 year ADN program and work full time as well. Like Julie said, It can be hard at times, but you have to keep focused on the long term goal. And I have a lot of younger people ( see how I refrained from using the word kids ) in my class, and it actually gives me a better perspective on my goals. Just alwasy remember why you wanted to do it.

Be Safe And Keep The Faith

Jerry

Re: Age 41....Registered for pre reqs

I am 41 and am finishing up the last of my "redo because it's been so long since you were in college" courses and I plan on not stopping until I have my masters. I'll be 46 when I am finished. I work full-time, go to school at night, have a teenager at home and sometimes feel like I meet myself coming and going. But I keep on trucking and I just take it one semester at a time.