Thread: reality check

reality check

ok, are you seeing in increase in available jobs or are we really in trouble here? i am now on week 5 looking for a position. I know that most of the agencies get the same jobs so am not one to go to 10 different agencies. I am amazed at the "promises" some of the agencies are making about jobs. but where are the jobs right now? how hard is it going to get to find work? it is a bit concerning to not be able to find work. i am even looking for perm jobs at this point. this is just crazy.
    please talk to us honestly and dont promise anything.

Re: reality check

Where are you looking and for what position? I am seeing the same thing here in NJ...

hi dawn,
    i have been a nurse for 17 years. i have extensive med/surg with branching out in ER, PEDS, and mother baby.
    i have worked 2 bed ER by myself in smaller hospitals but not in the bigger ones. i am looking for anything at this point. it is insane out there. i even got put in for a position in a jail that is how crazy it is. but with so many nurses fighting for the same job it is really getting outrageous. i dont think it matters what agency you are with cause they are all fighting for the same spots out there. i cant believe that one agency has a hold on positions but if there is an agency that is placing RN's faster then email me. i need to go to work. i am 5 weeks out of work now and i am worried.
    what is your specialty?
    i have a compact license and still cant find work. i cant believe it. it is just as hard to find a perm job out there.

You might try looking for a regular permanent job, or one of the agency staffing jobs. I've met people who stay busy with staffing agencies. Big difference is that you're in the same area. Good luck.