Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ANY OTHER ENTREPRENEURS?!?!

ANY OTHER ENTREPRENEURS?!?!

I've diversified out of the traditional nursing role so I can be home with my kids and "work" from home..... and I LOVE it! I never minded the hospital "owning" my time till I had kids and I found I was trying to fit my time with my kids/family AROUND my employment.

I tried the nutritional field and lost my butt over 5 years and then added Global website technology and have done great there. How many of you have either left Nursing entirely or have another business while still in Nursing?? How do you like it?

Re: ANY OTHER ENTREPRENEURS?!?!

I am also a Nurse entrepreneur, and have been in a variety of nursing businesses over the past 10+ years. I've done nursing consulting, conducted continuing ed seminars on the road, home health agency owner, private duty nursing company owner, and some legal case review. What is your web business all about? (Just curious). I think that being a nurse is the most versatile career, because you can do so many different roles and functions. Keeps you from getting bored. I am also convinced that more nurses need to try out their entrepreneurial wings. While nursing is GREAT, hospitals can be toxic environments. One reason that I became an entrepreneur was because I felt that the hospital was sucking the life out of me as a person. Nurses can practice their art and science without being employees of toxic environments.

Yes, I am an entrepreneur too! I have started a DME business specializing in a new bowel therapy equipment that I just got approved by the state of California Medi-Cal system. I don't plan on having any employees. I am out-sourcing the billing, but I am not sure how to educate people in the medical field about this new equipment. Any suggestions? I was thinking of offering a referral fee for qualified leads that ultimately receive authorization form either their private insurance or medi-cal.

Sharon