Thread: Help!!!

Facebook User

Help!!!

I'm new to travel nursing and thought I had all my ducks in row to begin my new ventures as a travel nurse...I was wrong! I worked on a MS unit at Duke Hosp for 1 yr and then did home health this past year. Now I'm being told by the travel company I applied to that she can't get me an assignment because she has no home health positions (which I don't want anyway) and no hosp will take me since I haven't worked in one the past year?!?! She knew that I had been working home health when I first contacted her in May, now she tells me this after I turn in my application? If she had been listening to me instead of rushing me off the phone I would've known this before I gave up my apartment! Now she wants me to work some where per diem (yea right, whose going to hire someone knowing they're trying to leave in a few months?!?!). And then when I asked her how long do I need to work per diem on a unit...her response was >3 shifts??? what kind of dumb response is that?!? I'm flustered now and I haven't even started...someone help any suggestions of how to get around this or another angency besides RNNETWORK?...and forget NursesRx, she calls me back 2 days after I call her...help?!?

Re: Help!!!

ok, well here's the deal.. A travel nurse must have 1 recent year experience in the field they will be traveling. So, you will need to take a hospital job and wait to travel... Some of the recruiters are idiots. and too bad nurses rx did not call you because they would have told you that up front, because they did tell me that.. 1 year is the deal.

Member Extraordinaire