Thread: guys please help me.....

guys please help me.....

HI, I have a question, I am an intern resident, and have problems with a particular nurse calling me about nothing and nonstop. Yes I know I will probably get flamed here, but this is the issue, she pages me about nothing, and keeps me on the phone I do not understand what is her problem, I am close to reporting her. For instance, she called me regarding a particular patient that I admitted, and called me and said exactly the following "she doesnt look so good" now I do not understand this could it possibly be that maybe I already know this because I have rounded on her three times - including with my upper level residents and staff physicians - that particular day and she is in a bit of discomfort????? what exactly should I do about it over the phone - such a vague statement, no fever or elevated white count what the heck are you saying to me???? and then I had multiple patients on the same floor, and unfortunately the same nurse answered the phone because another nurse paged me about another really sick patient, and as usual I was doing 5 things at the same time, and that particular patient was really sick! so I fixed that particular problem, and then there she went again, the last thing that she said before I hung up the phone, "so what should you do about the other patient?" now this is highly inappropriate abuse of the paging system in my opinion, the patient is fine now and ready to be discharged, but how can there be allowance of this type of behavior??? When I am managing multiple very sick patients with very little help at times, how can I put up with this type of behavior... and then get this, I was just mentioning that a patient's appetite was better, and she said the following, "how can the patient's appetite be better when they are NPO?" What the ..... no explicatives there....but this is the by far and large the most annoying nurse on the planet, what should I do about it????????? I love it wh