Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Having a tough time...

Having a tough time...

I just started in a Nursing program, and WOW am I having some mental issues. I'm the only male in a class of 24, I'm also one of the oldest in the class (42), and my background is in male dominated businesses (trucking and construction). For decades I've been in a situation where showing compassion or care is the equivalent of showing weakness (something you must never do in these fields). And now, as if overnight, I must freely show the care I feel inside. This is very difficult for me and I'm having a tough time with feelings of exposure.

I don't know if I'm going to make it. I feel like an outsider, and I feel as if the women in the class are avoiding me. I have been relegated to last one up in the lab exercises, and none of the women seem to be willing to partner with me. I certainly won't be able to make it through the course alone, yet I'm uncomfortable approaching any of the women to work with me. There's been an exchange of phone #'s and email addresses amongst the women students, but I wasn't included. Are they sending me a signal, or are they just as uncomfortable as me?

I have worked hard through the prerequisite courses, which were populated mostly by women, and never had feelings like this. I maintain a 3.6 GPA (so I'm certainly capable), and have been happily married for 16 years (I'm no pervert). I am a big guy, 6'3" and 205 Lbs, with an athletic build, so I'm aware that my size can be a bit imposing.

So many things seem to be coming together in my mind/heart all at the same time. Masculinity, gender roles, studying, performance anxiety, discrimination, financial burdens, etc.

I wish I could better convey the swirl of emotions, fears, hopes, and anxieties I'm feeling. I'm hoping there are other guys (or women) out there who may be able to relate, and perhaps help me sort through all of this and be successful.